I Am Alive

Flipping through the old diaries
Reading out the old poems
Listening to the old voices
I feel nostalgic

Helpless I feel
sometimes to such an extent
That the very word seems
to be trivial to me

I swear I always tried
till there were tears in my eyes
and i know i could not make anyone believe
what my life has always meant to me

I was never born to oblige
the whims and expectations of everyone alive
I was not born trapped in a shell
choked and stuffed, unknown to self

I was born a free soul
arrogant, stubborn and joyful
I was made to fly across the world
alas, before i could fly, i was tied

Tied with strings of affection
too weak to pull too strong to break
Buried under burden of expectations
too light to lift too heavy to remove

I wonder how i survived
is known only to my heart and mind
But the only thing i now realise
is that I deserve to have my share of pie

I need to prove
and let not anyone surmise
That i have a beating heart and a pair of dreaming eyes
I too need to share my laughter and come to life.

2 thoughts on “I Am Alive

  1. The creative depth of your emotions was truly amazing. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful post! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings would love to know what you think about them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment